Yiddish Translators

Yiddish Translators & Suggestions for Translation Jobs

First, make copies of the material to be translated, and never let the originals out of your possession. It may sound obvious, but there have been originals accidentally lost, so do not take anything for granted.

Second, printed material will always be easier to decipher than handwritten material. Depending on age, and the style of penmanship of the writer, handwritten documents will range from being clear to read, to possibly being unintelligible. If handwritten documents are involved, it is advisable to ask for a sample in advance, to enable the translator to gauge the degree of difficulty, and therefore the time involved in the task. Be aware that it is not uncommon for words from other languages to be inserted, using letters of the Hebrew alphabet.

Third, it doesn't make a difference where the person who has the original documents is located. There are a number of options available today for the exchange of information, beyond the obvious use of hard copy via the mail. It is possible to fax documents, or scan them into a computer and attach the document images to an e-mail. In the latter cases, the originals certainly need not be placed at risk.

Fourth, it is of paramount importance to specify both the content and form of the final product to be delivered. More problems arise here than in any other area.

  • As to content, do you want just a general idea of what is in the letters with only names, dates and addresses? Do you want a verbatim word for word translation?
  • As to form, our translators can translate into English or other languages, including YIVO Standard Orthography.. Do you want the finished product to be handwritten, or do you want it typed and sent as hardcopy, or do you want it on a disk—and if so, in what format?

Fifth, especially where there is a large manuscript, it is recommended that a representative sheet be sent to the translator for preliminary review. It is recommended that the translator turn around a ‘test’ translation of such a sheet in the proposed form, to validate the requirement.

Sixth, payment can be arranged in any number of ways: by the finished job (paid periodically), by the hour, or by the page. This is up to the parties to decide. Der Bay receives no money from either party; only the satisfaction that I have helped 2 people in fostering the Yiddish language. The only time Der Bay wants to hear from either party is if there has been a transaction that was outstanding, or one that was unsatisfactory.

Seventh, while some translators will do a post card or a page letter free, do not expect lengthy material to be done gratis. From experience, the rates appear to vary from $20 to $60 per hour. In general the higher the rate, the more adept the translator: however, it has not always been the case.

List of U. S. Translators--Canada--Others

Michael Alpert 610 W. 110th St. #15E New York NY 10025 646-267-7987 meyshke@gmail.com
Merle Bachman Spalding Univ. Louisville KY   502-585-9911 xt. 2408 mbachman@spalding.edu
Archie Barkan 22140 Victory Blvd. #B118 Woodland Hills CA 91367 818-999-0433 ArchiefromCA@webtv.net
Dr. Jack S. Berger 12 Janice Ct. Mahwah NJ 07430 201-529-3391

JSBerger@sigmaxi.net
Yizkor Books

Debra H. Biasca 230 S. 38th Boulder CO 80303 303-494-3817 dbiasca@gmail.com
Dr. Nick Block 1657 Adelia Place NE Atlanta GA 30329 248-678-4476

http://translations.nickblockphd.com

Cantor Sheldon Chandler 38 Ironwood Ln. Tewksbury MA 01876 978-851-9868 hardsheld@aol.com
Sheldon Clare 2522 N. Avenida Valiente Tucson AZ 85721 520-546-6058 sheldonc@email.arizona.edu
Libby Okun Cohen 1703 King Mountain Rd Charlottesville VA 22901 804-295-5994 rc@virginia.edu
Stefanie Cooper P.O. Box 34276 Philadelphia PA 19101 215- 620-4150 stefjez@verizon.net
Hindi Diamond 93 Dorset C Boca Cent. Vlg. Boca Raton FL 33179 561-470-0970 hindi@adelphia.net
Toby Ehrlich 2847 West Estes Chicago IL 60645 773-262-0070 TayblE@aol.com
Albert Engleman 272 Westgate Prescott AZ 86305 928-776-0116  
Dan Epner 156 W 86th St #2C New York NY 10024   Fax 212-769-8784
Esther Falk 223 Anita Ave. Pittsburgh PA 15217 412-521-9088 falkesther@yahoo.com
Morrie Feller 458 W. Flower St. Phoenix AZ 85013 602-274-8964 mfeller@home.com
Hannah Fischthal 184-08 Tudor Rd. Jamaica NY 11432 718 969-5850 HBFYiddishTranslator@gmail.com
Judy Fixler 2711 Mill Ave. Brooklyn NY 11234 718-531-8166 jifix@aol.com
Miriam Flacks 1603 Garden St. Santa Barbara CA 93101 805-962-2057 mflacks@cox.net
Gloria Freund 142 West End Ave #5N New York NY 10023 917-441-8191 glory1@rcn.com
Goldie A. Gold 350 W. 24th St #16 B New York NY 10011 212-989-7409 goldele@rcn.com
Albert Goldin 3218 Beals Branch Rd. Louisville KY 40206 502-895-5996

eligershon@aol.com

David Goldman 1401 55th Ave. #1F Brooklyn NY 11219 718-438-1059

lugman@verizon.net

Ruth Goodman 409 Sparrow's Ridge Glen Mills PA 19342 302-478-2893 ruthfg@aol.com
Al Grand North Bellmore New York NY 11710 516-292-8724 savoyid@optonline.net
Deborah A. Green 10884 Hawks Vista S Plantation FL 33324 954-452-9593 deborahgreen@thegreenlawfirm.net
Mindle Crystel Gross 8870 Boatswain Dr Boynton Beach FL 33436 561-369-1854 Marv144@aol.com
Hershl Hartman 3142 S. Bentley Ave. Los Angeles CA 90034 310-473-4323 hershl@earthlink.net
Dr. Kathryn Hellerstein 7205 Lincoln Dr. Philadelphia PA 19119 215-247-6965 khellers@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Miriam Isaacs 2711 Ordway St NW #210 Washington DC 20008 301-405-0264 tabakm28@gmail.com
Atarah Jablonsky 21 W. Charlotte Ave. Cincinnati OH 45215 513-761-8062 ajpiano@mailstation.com
Martin Jacobs 2940 Ocean Pkwy. #23G Brooklyn NY 11235 718-449-5955 mjacobs59@aya.yale.edu Also Hebrew, French and German
Rose Jimenez 79 Southwood Circle Syosset NY 11791 516-921-5027 Rjimi@aol.com
Richard G. Kaiser 5085 Stansbury Dr. Solon OH 44139 440-248-7788

 

richardgkaiser@gmail.com

Ruby Kohn 6070 California Cir. #402 Rockville MD 20852 301-881-4090 arkohn_02@comcast.net
Ruth Kohn 150-25 72nd Rd. #1C Flushing NY 11367 718-268-2879 ruthtkohn@@gmail.com
Miriam Koral 2409 Clement Ave. Venice CA 90291 310-745-1170 koralm@ca.rr.com
Irving Korr 3929 Glen Park Rd Oakland CA 94602 510-530-5017 ikorr@mindspring.com
Pearl Krupit 145G Cross Slope Ct Manalapan NJ 07726 908-536-6307 krupit@optonline.net
Lillian Leavitt 86 Allerton Rd Newton Centre MA 02159 617-244-1866

leavittx@comcast.net

 

Miriam Leberstein 789 W End Ave, #11A New York NY 10025 212-663-4495 mleberstein@gmail.com
Jon Levitow 315 blossom Valley Dr. Los Gatos CA 95032 408-358-5807 jnlvtw@comcast.net
Tina Lunson 7218 Central Ave. Takoma Park MD 20912 301-270-2718 tlunson@ix.netcom.com
Noah Marcell 2742 W. Jerome St. Chicago IL 60645 773-465-6428 miriam-stein@att.net
Aviva May 3600 N. Lakeshore Dr. #801 Chicago IL 60613 773-348-8700  
Moises Mermelstein 5798 Thada Lane Columbus OH 43229 614-846-4824 moisesmermelstein2@yahoo.com
Marc Miller 1329 Kittredge Ct. NE Atlanta GA 30329 404-486-8256 mmill22@emory.edu
Pollack- Miniewski 346 E. 9th St. #3 New York City NY 10003 646-241-7626 iberzetsers@earthlink.net
Eli Mishulovin 511 E. 6th St. #3F New York City NY 10009 646-327-1633 em240@columbia.edu
Ruth Murphy 2117 Yak Trail Harker Heights TX 76548 254-393-0036 j-murphy@mindspring.com
Paula Parsky P. O. Box 66 Northampton MA 01061 413-584-4672 media@kamea.com
Roslyn B. Perry 350 W. 24th St #18E New York City NY 10011 212-604-0620 roslynbresnickperry@gmail.com
Chana Pollack 346 E. 9th St. New York City NY 10003 646-241-7626 iberzetsers@earthlink.net
Rita Ratson 1109 Rising Sun Pl. Philadelphia PA 19115 215-698-2653 rjratson@yahoo.com
Esther Ritchie 67 St. George Pl. Palm Beach Gardens FL 33418 561-630-0969 estherri@comcast.net
Hilda Rubin 706 Hurley Ave. Rockville MD 20850 301-424-2590 hirubin@starpower.net
Yankl Salant 409 Park Pl. Brooklyn NY 11238 718-857-3156 ysalant@earthlink.net
Rivka Schiller 1620 Ave. I #106 Brooklyn NY 11230 917-209-6717 rivkaschiller@yahoo.com
Shelby Shapiro 6813 Carlyn Ct. Bethesda MD 20817 301-229-6101 shelshap1949@yahoo.com
Phyllis Aliza Shevrin 2021 Vinewood Blvd Ann Arbor MI 48104 734-769-6343 shevrin@umich.edu1
Jacob Szczupak 2491 Brookdale Dr. Atlanta GA 30345 404-636-5497 LJSzczupak@bellsouth.net
Dr. Stanley Scheindlin 3011 Nesper St. Philadelphia PA 19152 215-624-1103  
Esther Teitelbaum 8877 Collins Ave #1002 Surfside FL 33154 305-864-1053 Spanish
Dr. Khane-Feygl Turtletaub 8914 N Central Park Evanston IL 60203 847-675-3335 doctorkf@rcn.com
Rose Waldman 614 Wythe Ave. Brooklyn NY 11249 347-276-6390 waldmanrose@gmail.com
Leah Watson 450 Rugby Ave. Rochester NY 14619 716-436-5035  
Benjamin Weiner 394 Greenfield Rd. Deerfield MA 01342 617-777-2164 benweiner@hotmail.com
Dr. Kenneth Wishnia 21 Bridle Path Lane Port Jefferson NY 11777 516-751-3810  
Leonard Wolf 1 Fifth Ave New York NY 10003   lwolf75807@aol.com
Zalman M. Zager 33 Dana Rd. Monsey NY 10952 845-282-2468 zalmanz@optonline.net
Rabbi Edward Zerin 66 Cleary Ct. #1006 San Francisco CA 94109 415-922-4048 edzerin@sbcglobal.net
Dr. Sheva Zucker 1114 Iredell St. Durham NC 27705 919-286-3628 sczucker@aol.com
Dr. Barney Zumoff 3710 Bedford Ave Brooklyn NY 11229   BZumoff@chpnet.org
      CANADA        
Hindy Abelson 177 St George St #308 Toronto Ontario M5R 2M5 416-966-7596 Hnacre8@aol.com
Richard Bassett 23 Fairleigh Crescent Toronto Ontario M6C 3R7 416-854-2535 richardbassett57@hotmail.com
Miriam Beckerman 7 Broadway Ave #211 Toronto Ontario M4P 3C5 416-489-7771  
Saul Berman 22 Parravano Ct. Willowdale Ontario M2R 3S8 416-733-0728 berman123@home.com
Sharon Cooper 92 Gilmour Street Ottawa Ontario K2P 0N6 613-230-9676 surahenna@yahoo.ca
Vivian Felsen 7 Bathford Crescent Toronto Ontario M2J 2S3 416-226-5645 vfelsen@yahoo.com
Haya Fuchs 588 West 24th Avenue Vancouver British Columbia V5Z 2B4 604-264-7087 helenfuchs@hotmail.com
Martin Green 147 Westgate Winnipeg Manitoba R3C 2E2  

bestware@home.com

http://www.onforeignsoil.com

Shirley Kumove 41 Marbury Crescent Toronto Ontario M3A 2G3 416-444-1333 skumove@rogers.com
Jerrold Landau 38 Robbie Ave. Toronto Ontario M3H 1Y4 416-398-1293

landau@ca.inter.net

http://www.jerroldlandau.com/

Goldie Morgentaler 456 Barton Ave. Montreal Quebec H3P 1N4 514-341-6316 goldiem@total.net
Simcha Simchovitch 17 Tillplain Rd North York Ontario M3H 5R1 416-635-7199  
Chayale Thalenberg 450 Stratmore Blvd Toronto Ontario M4C 1N5 416-423-4699  
Joseph Skilnik Rua Ferreira Penteado 1242 apt. 154 Campinas - SP BRAZIL   iosl@gmx.net
Elimelech Schwartz 115 Kyverdale Rd. London ENGLAND

07973696548

Schwartzeli115@gmail.com
Lena Watson 36 Argyll Mansions, 303 Kings Rd. London ENGLAND   misefein@btinternet.com
David Lidsky POB 71178 Jerusalem 91711 ISRAEL 972-2-679-5490 FDLIDSKY@netvision.net.il
Bob Daykin Rehov Rav Elazar Hamoda'i POB 631 Beitar Ilit ISRAEL 972-2-580-6917 daykin@actom.co.il
Naomi Elbinger     ISRAEL   naomi@yiddish-translation.com
Willy Brill 1e Bloemdwarsstraat 20 LM 1016 Amsterdam The Netherlands   101737.3473@compuserve.com
Lucas Bruyn Oostmahorn 5A 9133DS Anjum The Netherlands mtroia36@freeler.nl

Go to Top

Go to Homepage

Last Updated on 7/2/13
By PHIL KUTNER